Performance Improvement

Approved for 20 hours of Performance Improvement (PI CME)

First thing first: What exactly is the PI CME that I am required to do?

Beginning in 2015, PAs will begin to transition to a new certification maintenance process. As part of this new process, PAs must earn 20 Category 1 credits of performance improvement CME (PI-CME) every 2 years (as well as 20 hours of self assessment). The PI and SA CME must be done as part of the CME requirements for each of the first 4- 2 year cycles, and is not required in the last (5th) CME cycle.  By the end of the 4th CME cycle, you must have 40 Category 1 CME credits through self-assessment (SA) AND 40 Category 1 CME credits through PI activities.

Each PI-CME activity follows the three-stage PI-CME model:

  • Stage A – Performance Measurement
  • Stage B – Intervention/Improvement Plan
  • Stage C – Re-Measurement

Our PI CME is Designed to Increase Patient Satisfaction

Not only does this benefit the individual provider, but it will increase the amount of funding received by the healthcare system in which you practice. Here are the 3 stages of CME4LIFE’s PI CME.

  • Stage A: Compare your practice of Patient Satisfaction to national benchmarks, performance guidelines set forth within your practice or other evidence-based standard. This score will be taken from the Press Ganey (or similar) score of your institution or you may complete the self assessment scoring to give yourself a baseline score.
  • Stage B: Using the guidelines of this PI-CME project, develop and implement the plan for improvement in patient satisfaction. This program will offer you suggestions along with guidence to other suggestions to increase patient satisfaction. You will choose 3 to implement over a 60-90 day period.
  • Stage C:  Evaluate the impact of the improvement effort by comparing the results of the original data to the new results or outcomes.